hcm_beitrag_Kampf_gegen_COVID_19

On the forefront in the fight against COVID-19

Alcedis Gmbh, a clinical research organisation at the Giessen Technology and Innovation Centre, is currently participating in three clinical studies. The aim is to find new approaches to prevent and treat  the COVID-19 infection.

PopTika/ shutterstock.com

The current global threat posed by the rapid spread of the corona virus puts scientists, physicians and companies under enormous pressure. The healthcare sector is working urgently to develop effective approaches for the prevention and treatment of COVID-19. In fact, finding new solutions as quickly as possible is essential to prevent the catastrophic consequences of the disease. Only a close cooperation among the different stakeholders in the medical field can guarantee the 360-degree approach needed to take into account all sides of the infection. The Giessen-based research institute Alcedis GmbH is a major player in this fight against COVID-19 as the company is supporting several biotech partners in Germany.

From the development of a vaccine to plasma therapy: testing new options in the fight against the coronavirus 

Thanks to its digital expertise, Alcedis will participate in a pivotal study on a potential coronavirus vaccine starting from July 2020. Test data from many laboratories all around the world will then be further developed at Alcedis.

At the same time, Alcedis will conduct clinical study to assess the eventual benefits of plasma therapy on COVID-19 patients in Germany. This study, which was started last spring, investigates the therapeutic effects of the so-called convalescent plasma: plasma from patients who recovered from COVID-19 disease and have therefore built up an immune response. This plasma contains antibodies against the coronavirus and could therefore support the immune system of patients with severe COVID-19 disease in the fight against the infection. This study is the first research project of its kind that has been approved by the federal authority PEI (Paul Ehrlich Institute). 

In a third European study, Alcedis is working with an industry partner to investigate the effects of blood coagulation and anticoagulant drugs on the course of COVID-19 disease. This study is based on previous research data from China and other countries, which indicate that the incidence of pulmonary embolism in COVID-19 patients is directly related to severe disease progression, complications and increased mortality rates.

From cancer medicine to the fight against corona infection

Alcedis has more than 25 years experience in the medical research field, especially in cancer medicine. “This is an area of research that is under strong pressure in the current situation, since cancer patients usually belong to the high-risk group,” says Hanno Härtlein, Managing Director of Alcedis. “It’s difficult to predict how a corona infection or the postponement of control visits – as a result of the lockdown – could change cancer therapy and thus the research data. In addition, new forms of treatment, like personalized cancer therapy, often involve the body’s own immune system,” he continues. “The aim of  immuno oncology, for example, is to stimulate the body’s own immune system by using so-called checkpoint inhibitors to fight the cancer cells. An additional, severe viral infection is an extreme burden for the immune system,” adds Härtlein. “As a company, we’re very grateful to be able to make our contribution to these important COVID-19 research projects. This also fills our employees with pride. In addition, these projects suit us very well; we can prove ourselves as flexible experts in clinical research and also use our know-how in the field of digitalization and technologies for clinical studies.”

Leave a Comment

hcm_beitrag_Kampf_gegen_COVID_19

An vorderster Front im Kampf gegen COVID-19

Die Alcedis Gmbh, ein medizinisches Auftragsforschungsinstitut im Technologie- und Innovationszentrum Gießen, nimmt aktuell an drei klinischen Studien teil, die unterschiedliche Ansätze zur Prävention und Bekämpfung von COVID-19 untersuchen.

PopTika/ shutterstock.com

Die aktuelle globale Gefährdung durch die schnelle Ausbreitung des Corona-Virus setzt Wissenschaftler, Mediziner und Unternehmen unter enormen Druck. Der Gesundheitssektor arbeitet eifrig daran so schnell wie möglich neue Lösungen zur Prävention und Behandlung von  COVID-19 zu finden und die katastrophalen Folgen dieser Erkrankung zu verhindern. Ein 360 Grad-Ansatz, der möglichst alle Facetten der Infektion berücksichtigt, bedarf der engen Zusammenarbeit unter vielen Partnern im medizinischen Bereich. An diesem Kampf gegen COVID-19 nimmt auch das Gießener Auftragsforschungsinstitut Alcedis GmbH teil und unterstützt mehrere Industriepartner in Deutschland.

Von der Entwicklung eines Impfstoffes bis zur Plasmatherapie: Angriffspunkte des Coronavirus entschlüsseln

Dank der Expertise im Technologiebereich wird Alcedis ab Juli 2020 an einer zulassungsrelevanten Studie über einen möglichen Impfstoff gegen das Coronavirus teilnehmen. Sämtliche Analysedaten aus Laboren weltweit werden dann bei Alcedis zusammenlaufen.

Parallel dazu ist Alcedis als Forschungsinstitut mit der Durchführung einer deutschen klinischen Studien zur Plasmatherapie bei  COVID-19-Erkrankten betraut worden. Diese Studie, die im Frühjahr gestartet wurde, untersucht die therapeutischen Auswirkungen vom sogenannten Rekonvaleszenten-Plasma, d.h. Plasma von Patienten, die die COVID-19 Erkrankung überstanden haben und deswegen eine körpereigene Immunantwort aufgebaut haben. Dieses Plasma enthält Antikörper gegen das Coronavirus und kann deshalb bei Patienten mit schwerer COVID-19 Erkrankung das eigene Immunsystem im Kampf gegen die Infektion unterstützen. Diese Studie ist das erste Forschungsvorhaben dieser Art, das durch die Bundesoberbehörde PEI (Paul-Ehrlich-Institut) genehmigt wurde.

In einer dritten europaweiten Studie erforscht Alcedis zusammen mit einem Industriepartner die Rolle der Blutgerinnung und der Behandlung mit gerinnungshemmenden Mitteln bei einer COVID-19 Erkrankung. Diese Studie basiert auf vorangegangenen Forschungsdaten aus China und weiteren Ländern, die darauf hinweisen das eine Lungenembolie bei COVID-19 Patienten im direkten Zusammenhang mit schweren Krankheitsverläufen, Komplikationen und erhöhten Sterblichkeitsraten steht.

Von der Krebsmedizin bis hin zur Bekämpfung der Corona-Infektion

Alcedis forscht seit über 25 Jahren in verschiedenen Indikationen, ist aber schwerpunktmäßig in der Krebsmedizin verwurzelt. „Ein Forschungsbereich, der in der aktuellen Situation unter starkem Druck steht, da Krebspatienten meist zur Hochrisikogruppe gehören und sich schwer vorhersagen lässt, wie eine Corona-Infektion oder die Verschiebung von Kontrollvisiten – infolge des Lockdowns – die Krebstherapie und damit die Forschungsdaten verändern könnten. Außerdem setzen neue Behandlungsformen, z.B. in der personalisierten Krebstherapie oft auf das körpereigene Immunsystem. So wird in der Immunonkologie durch den Einsatz sogenannter Checkpoint-Inhibitoren versucht, das körpereigene Immunsystem anzukurbeln, um die Krebszellen zu bekämpfen. Eine zusätzliche und schwere Virusinfektion stellt dabei natürlich eine extreme Belastung des Immunsystems dar“, so Hanno Härtlein, Geschäftsführer von Alcedis. „Als Unternehmen sind wir sehr dankbar, dass wir in der aktuellen Zeit in diesen wichtigen COVID-19 Forschungsprojekten unseren Beitrag leisten können. Auch unsere Mitarbeiter erfüllt das mit Stolz. Außerdem passen diese Projekte sehr gut zu uns und wir können uns als flexible Fachexperten der klinischen Forschung beweisen und ebenfalls unser Know-how im Bereich Digitalisierung und Technologien in klinischen Studien ausschöpfen“.

Schreibe einen Kommentar